It all starts with a pattern.

Ethan’s nieces were in Oregon for their annual spring break trip and the night they flew back to Virginia we hosted everyone over our place for dinner. My parents and sister happened to be in town for the weekend so everyone got to meet (long overdue). After a takeout Chinese food dinner and entertainment provided by Hannah the girls decided they wanted to do a sewing project. At this point we only had 20 minutes before they had to leave so I grabbed a pile of fabric and my ribbon jar and paper and suggested that they make a pattern. I would then follow their patterns to make their creations. This is what they designed:

IMG_8859IMG_8857Hannah’s circle pillow!

IMG_8860IMG_8856Madalyn’s pillowcase!

Great job girls! Your patterns were much easier to follow than say some written by, Ms. Amy Butler.

A few more shots from the evening:

IMG_0434 IMG_0436
The girls posing with the headbands I made them.

IMG_0438
Mouse Trap with Uncle Ethan!

IMG_0442

I love this photo (even though it’s a little blurry), Jo Ann, Madalyn, Hannah, Ethan.

4 comments
  1. Amber said:

    Such a great idea! I’ve seen this done with kids and clothing… Maybe next time?!?!

    • Skirts would be awesome. They are coming out to Oregon again in July maybe then!

  2. What a fun idea! Great use of the fabrics for kids’ headbands πŸ˜€ I think I need to get Mousetrap to play with my nephews.

  3. Susan said:

    SWEET! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

