home birth

I got the call I’ve been waiting for for a month. The call I was anticipating to come in the dead of night came at 1:55 a.m. Friday, July 20th (the dead of night). It was BJ telling me, “Amber has a pain in her side and we think it might be labor.” I could hear Amber in the background saying, “just tell her to get over here!!”

My bestie was going into labor with her second child and I was on the “birth team” (again). Is there a greater honor?

If any of you are so blessed to be on such a team and receive such a call you know the emotions that spill over you—shock, adrenaline, happiness, honor, pleasure, focus. The entire drive I was thinking do not crash, why are all these people on the road at 2 a.m., am I going to make it in time, boy/girl/boy/girl?, where the heck are all these people going at 2 a.m.?

To the skeptics on home births, they are 100% normal, amazing, clean, happy and full of magic. I hope that when I have kids I am able to follow Amber’s lead.

The labor was quick (I say that like it was a piece of cake, not so if you ask Amber), seriously 3-4 pushing contractions and they had themselves a little girl! My job was to assist whenever necessary, take photos and video, stay out of the way and wake Tuesday (big sister) up when the pushing started. I had the easiest job.

For all the birth details and more photos of Bennet head over to mama’s blog.

Here she is, Miss Bennet Marie (and Tuesday Lee of course):

My gift to the Bennet was this quilt. I hope to add Bennet’s name in the three grey squares on the left. I also got her this night gown.

Tonight is Amber’s birthday. Every year she celebrates by going to the Oregon State Fair. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMBER LEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You have so much to celebrate. Rides here we come.

3 comments
  1. Susan said:

    What a beautiful experience! No pressure but maybe your MOM can be a part of your team!!!

  2. carmen said:

    Amber told me the whole story and said over and over and over how awesome you were. It must have been such an amazing experience.

Leave a Reply

